Mario Piperni and the Bad Penny

Two Brain Cells and Leaving the Republican Party

April 10, 2012 By

One man’s look back on why it took him as long as it did to finally abandon the Republican party.

I think the meanness of the GOP was a big part of it. The outing people on the internet, the religious fanatics, the attempts to get people fired, the absolute unwillingness to ever admit error, the smearing of Schiavo’s husband, the gay-bashing, etc.

But again, I will never know why it took so long. It’s not easy looking at everything you thought you knew and saying “Wow, was I ever full of shit.” But eventually, if you have two remaining brain cells bouncing around your thick noggin, the amount of evidence becomes unavoidable and undeniable.

Even for someone who voted for Bush twice.

Reason to hope, right?

3 responses to “Mario Piperni and the Bad Penny

  1. I guess I had three brain cells left. I only voted for him once before I crossed to the Democratic shore.

  2. Pingback: The Fifth Column

  3. Pingback: Right-Wing Insanity Illustrated – Slideshow No. 31 « The Fifth Column

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.